Farming For Love - Farmer Alex Q&A

Describe yourself in a few sentences.

I’d describe myself as funny, confident, loud and a good time in a public setting. I’m purpose driven. If there’s something in my head, I need to get it done now. I’m hardworking but, definitely enjoy a good time, which usually ends up being a lot of spontaneous fun. 

 

What are your interests?  

I’m really into all types of sports. If someone asked me to join their team I’d be there in a heartbeat. I prefer to play sports over watching them. In the winter, I can be found skiing and in the summer I’ll most likely be swimming in the lake or camping. I prefer camping in my tent trailer where there is a real bed rather than sleeping on a thin blow-up mattress on the ground. I’m not high maintenance, I just want to be comfortable. I also play the guitar, however, not as well as I used to so don’t get your hopes up! 

 

What can someone (a dater) expect to see and do when they come to your farm?  

The farm is busy year-round, whether it be cleaning stalls, feeding calves, or moving cows, there’s work to be done. Aside from that, there are mountain views in every direction to enjoy and a sense of calm and peacefulness, which is nice after a long day. 

 

What is your favourite music / musician / band?   

I have a broad taste in music. My go-to is usually Country, although I’m not usually the one to know what is popular, so if I had to pick my two favourite songs I’d say, Best F*n Summer by Atlus and 23 by Chayce Beckham.   

 

What is your favourite movie and why?  

I’m into comedy and action films. When I was younger, I really liked The Fast and The Furious mainly for the action and the fast cars. If I was to pick based on a storyline, because I like a good storyline, I’d say The Shawshank Redemption and The Gentlemen. My least favourite film genre is horror, I hate horror films. They make me scream.  

What sort of partner are you looking for?  

I’m looking for a partner who is like-minded and spontaneous. Someone reasonably independent and has their own thing, who can enjoy a lazy day but knows how to get work done. They would be outgoing and could hold their own in a social event. And they need to have a good sense of humour. 

 

What age partner are you looking for?  

21 to 26.

 

What qualities are you looking for in a partner?  

I’m looking for confidence, humility, someone who is family-oriented and respectful. And someone who can carry a conversation and read the room, like knowing when it’s the right time to tell that joke. It is also important that my partner works hard and has a job they enjoy.

 

How would you describe yourself in a relationship?  

I’m pretty good at recognizing when someone is having a bad day and might just need to sit and watch a movie. I’m respectful and caring in a relationship. If a lot is happening on the farm I may miss some cues, so a reminder to take a moment to chat is sometimes needed. Having said that, the farming needs to be done, so walking and talking may need to happen to get the work done. I can’t always drop what I’m doing but I can be there for you while I’m working.  

 What qualities do you bring to a relationship?  

I try to be a good listener, sometimes that results in me trying to fix the problem rather than hearing my partner vent so I need to work on that. I’m also a loyal partner and I try to understand where the other person is coming from. I’ve also got a funny personality.  

 

Describe your family.  

We do a lot with close family members. On Easter and Christmas, we do a brunch with my dad’s side of the family, the closest people in my life. When I’m dating someone, I always think would my partner pass the brunch test? They need to get along with my family. 

 

Do you have any children?  

No.

 

Would you like to have children? If so, how soon after meeting the right person?  

Haven’t given it a ton of thought. I’m not for it and not against it, but I would talk it through with a partner. I’d want to make sure we have a stable house, stable income and stable jobs. 

What is the most interesting thing about you?   

I have three tattoos that I got impulsively with friends: a llama, a cow and a pig. You have to know me well to see the pig and cow.

 

Where would you like to be in five years' time?  

In terms of a relationship, I’d like to be married or with someone I plan on marrying. Together we’d live on or near the farm, and I would continue my full-time work on the dairy 

What is your philosophy on love?  

Love is like a fart. If you have to force it, it is probably...well, you know the rest... 

 

What would you like to say to anyone thinking of applying to meet you?  

A one-hour plan could turn into 4 hours, so clear your schedule, buckle up and let’s ride. 


You might also like